5 Security Certifications that Will Boost Your IT Career

Share this post Earning an in-demand certification can increase your salary by putting in the effort. It may also open doors to new opportunities.
How do you decide which one is right? The key factors to consider when deciding which security certification you should pursue are your career goals, your job market, and personal goals.
The most recent salary and job data shows that there are five certifications that are worth your time, regardless of whether you’re just starting out or looking to advance in your career. They are:
1. CISSP: Certified Information Systems Security Professional
The CISSP has been long considered the “gold standard” for security certifications. It is a highly sought-after certification among security professionals. The CISSP certification is vendor-neutral and demonstrates an individual’s expertise in a variety of security functions.
You must have at most five years experience in one of the eight subject areas that make up the CISSP exam: Security, risk management, communications, network security, asset security and software development security. Even if you don’t have five years of work experience, you can pass the CISSP exam with flying colors and earn the associate designation.
Average salaries for CISSP certified people range from $73,627 to $119,000. To maintain the CISSP certification, continuing education credits must be taken each year.
2. Cisco CCNA Security
Individuals who have the Cisco CCNA credential (which demonstrates their ability configure, operate, and secure Cisco devices) can move on to the Cisco CCNA security certification. This is a step that will allow them to work in network security administration. To begin the certification process, candidates must meet the requirements for the Cisco CCENT certification. They also need to have at least one to three year’s experience in networking.
This certification covers education and training in network security. It focuses on testing, configuring, maintaining and troubleshooting Cisco security solutions to ensure network security. To earn the certification, you must pass two exams after completing the Cisco CCNA Security training courses. One for the CCENT exam and one for CCNA Security. This credential can earn you a salary ranging from $53,514 to $90 642, on average.
ITProTV’s video courses are a great way to prepare for the CCNA Security exam.
3. CISA: Certified Information Systems Auditor
This is the oldest security certification, which was introduced in 1978, and is for people who work in IT systems auditing, monitoring, assessing, and controlling. CISA professionals ensure compliance with the most current standards and best practices.
You must have at most five years experience in IS monitoring and control to earn this certification. This exam is only available three times per year. It covers topics such as auditing, asset management and IT governance and management. You must continue to learn in order to maintain your certification. This certification could lead to a salary of approximately $122,326 per year.
4. CEH: Certified Ethical Hacker

Hacking is a common way to protect vulnerable networks. Many companies have started to hire ethical hackers, or “white hat” hackers to help them test their security systems and identify any potential weaknesses. How can companies be sure that the people they hire to test their networks aren’t “bad guys”? This is where CEH certification comes into play.
The Certified Ethical Hacking certification is required for anyone who wants to work in this highly-demanding field. The exam measures an individual’s ability find security vulnerabilities using the same methods hackers use.
CEH certified professionals have high demand. An ethical hacker can earn approximately $111,502 annually.
5. CompTIA Security+
CompTIA Security+ certification validates the foundational security knowledge of IT Security concepts. CompTIA’s vendor neutral certification is recognized all over the world.
CompTIA Security+ recommends that individuals obtain the CompTIA Network certification. They must also have at least two years’ experience in the IT field with an emphasis on security. The exam covers many topics such as network security, compliance and identity and access management, application, data and host securit.

Posts created 195

Related Posts

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top